LAW ENFORCEMENT COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES June 5, 2024

Members present: Karl Krall, Tanner Hiller, Roxanne Lutgen, and William Thomas

Members Absent: Scott Erickson

Also present: Sheriff Paul Samardich, Chief Deputy Michael Randall, Office Manager Carrie Kirtland, and Communications Director Darrell Petrusha

- 1. Meeting called to order by Committee Chair Karl Krall at 5:00 pm.
- 2. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

3. Acknowledge the meeting was properly posted.

4. Any Adjustments to the Agenda. One adjustment to the agenda is the Committee Chair requested Darrell Petrusha, Communications Director, to share with the Committee his job duties/functions. It was also mentioned that the County should look at a long-term plan for if and when Darrell retires. Job duties:

- 6 tower sites
- 20 radios
- Maintains the lawn and sprays weed killer at each location
- Squads puts new into service and removes old from service
- Only paid for when he works every two weeks

Motorola Solutions would be the future contact and they charge \$80/hour for windshield time and tech time is \$195/hour.

5. William Thomas made a motion to approve the May 15, 2024, meeting minutes, supported by Roxanne Lutgen. Voted. **Motion carried.**

6. No Public Comment.

- 7. Sheriff Samardich shared the following:
 - Jacob Colassaco, Road Deputy, received a Protect and Serve award from the Green Bay Packers for his efforts on saving a family from a fire last winter.

8. 5:23 pm William Thomas made a motion to move into closed session pursuant to WI Statute 19.85 (a) (c), seconded by Tanner Hiller. Roll call was taken. Motion carried.

9. 5:35 pm William Thomas made a motion to move back into open session, seconded by Roxanne Lutgen. Roxanne Lutgen made a motion to offer the full-time Female Jailer/Dispatcher position to Hana Joustra to start June 16, 2024 pending a background check and psychological evaluation, seconded by William Thomas. Roll call was taken. Motion carried.

10. The next meeting date is TBD but schedule for Wednesday's at 5:00 p.m. with at least a week's notice.

11. 5:38 pm Chairman Karl Krall declared the meeting adjourned.